Skip Navigation

Description

Kodiak College is part of the University of Alaska statewide system of public higher education. In 1987 it changed from its previous designation as a community college to an extended college of the University of Alaska Anchorage.

Mission

With a local focus and global connections, Kodiak College is a student-centered, vibrant community of learners.

Vision

Kodiak College, UAA, puts students first through innovative teaching, individualized support, and responsive service to community needs.

Academics

Kodiak College offers numerous academic credit courses that lead to occupational endorsement and undergraduate certificates and associate degrees and may be transferred to other colleges. In addition to traditional campus courses, there are a variety of alternative course formats including web-based, self-paced, and synchronous elearning courses. Academic, vocational, recreational and personal enrichment courses provide a wide array of choices for Kodiak College students. Kodiak College also provides outreach services to the U.S. Coast Guard, Kodiak Senior Center, local schools and the rural communities of Kodiak.

Coordination with other agencies broadens the programs of instruction available to local adults. Specialized courses and workshops are provided in cooperation with agencies such as the Kodiak Island Borough School District, Kodiak Area Native Association, the Kodiak Seafood and Marine Science Center, the U.S. Coast Guard, Women’s Resource and Crisis Center, Chamber of Commerce and others.

Kodiak College Advisory Council

Council Member Term Expires June 30 Contact
Susan Payne, Chair
Salmon Fisherman, Biologist
2020 sourdoughsolar@gmail.com
Ginny Shank, Vice Chair 
Staff trainer & marketing for Eyecare Excellence
2021 ginny.shank@yahoo.com
Captain Bryan Daily
Commanding Officer, USCG
Air Station Kodiak
2021 bryan.e.daily@uscg.mil
Pam Foreman
Kodiak Public Broadcasting Corporation
2021 pam@kmxt.org
Tyler Kornelis,
Economic Development Project Manager at Kodiak Area Native Association
2021 tykornelis@gmail.com
Linda Lance,
Coordinator for Educational Development Providence Kodiak Island Medical Center
2021 linda.lance@providence.org
Frank Schiro
Executive Director Kodiak Chamber of Commerce
2021 frank.schiro@kodiak.org
Rebecca Skinner 2020 rskinner2009@gmail.com
Student Representative Kodiak High School Vacant  

 Kodiak College

Betty Walters, Interim Director Kodiak College, UAA
bhwalters@alaska.edu

Bobbie Ivanoff, Faculty Administrative Associate, Minutes
bfarfallaivanoff@alaska.edu

Interested in serving on KoC Advisory Council?

Review the role of a council member.